Connecting Music

Connecting Music HD Videos

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Rahul Gandhi, Akhilesh among MPs with worst attendance in Parliament

New Delhi: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, Janata Dal (Secular) leader H.D. Kumaraswamy, Uttar Pradesh chief minister and Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav, and Bharatiya Janata Party's Navjyot Singh Sidhu are among those who barely attended Parliament in the third year of the 15th Lok Sabha. Nirmal Khatri, P.L. Punia, J.P. Agarwal (all from Congress), LK Advani (BJP), M Thambidurai (AIADMK) were among those having cent per cent attendance. Giving details about the spending from Member of Parliament Local Area Development Fund (MPLADS), the report said that Sonia Gandhi utilised Rs 2.32 crore, Advani spent Rs 1.71 crore and Leader of the Opposition Sushma Swaraj spent Rs 8.58 crore. A total of 12,201 interruptions and 110 adjournments were reported from the Lower House in the 85 sittings. In all, 175 hours and 51 minutes were lost in chaos with issues like price rise, land acquisition, CAG report, Lokpal and Lokayukta, FDI and demand of the then Home Minister P. Chidambaram's resignation halting the proceedings. Also, 91 Private Members Bills were presented and eight per cent MPs used this Parliamentary provision. However, more than 50 per cent of the members used the Parliamentary instrument of 'Special Mention'.

No comments:

Post a Comment